View Document

Credit Points and Course Structure Policy

This is the current version of this document. To view historic versions, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Background and Purpose

(1) This Policy prescribes the attributes of the credit point system that operates at the University for coursework subjects to facilitate cross-disciplinary enrolment, transfers between courses and credit transfer. It also details how courses may be structured incorporating subjects at different levels.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Scope

(2) This Policy applies to all coursework courses and subjects.

Top of Page

Section 3 - Policy Statement

(3) Normally coursework subjects will have a value of 15 credit points except in the following circumstances:

  1. where, for pedagogical reasons, certain subjects are offered as multiples of 15 credit points (this includes, but is not limited to, clinical subjects, fieldwork placements, internships, laboratory classes or the thesis component of courses)
  2. subjects for non-award programs, such as professional development programs and other short courses, may be established at less than 15 credit points. Where these subjects demonstrably meet the appropriate Australian Qualifications Framework level, they may be accumulated for credit into a relevant cognate 15 credit point subject. 

(4) All subjects must be approved via the relevant process (see Course and Subject Management Policy and Procedures).

(5) Exemptions to this Policy must be approved by Education Committee.

(6) For the purposes of assessing fees and load reporting an EFTSL (Equivalent Full-Time Student Load) for an Academic Year is defined as 120 credit points.

(7) To be eligible for the award of a diploma, students will complete 120 credit points; for the award of an associate degree, 240 credit points.

(8) To be eligible for the award of a Bachelor Degree students will complete 360 credit points for a three year degree and 480 credit points for a four year degree. This will normally be composed of a maximum of 150 credit points at first year level and a minimum of 120 credit points at third year level (or at fourth year level for four year programs).

(9) Variations to course structures require the approval of the Education Committee with the condition that first-year level subjects may be increased only by a corresponding reduction in second-year (not third or fourth year) subjects.

(10) Credit point requirements for Double or Combined qualifications are detailed in the Double, Combined, Dual and Joint Qualifications Policy and Procedures.

Top of Page

Section 4 - Procedures

(11) Nil.

Top of Page

Section 5 - Definitions

(12) For the purposes of this Policy:

  1. Academic Year: runs from 1 January to 31 December inclusive.
  2. Credit Point: a unit of measure to indicate the workload in a subject or course.
  3. EFTSL: Equivalent Full-Time Student Load. 1.00 EFTSL represents the total workload of a full-time student in any single Academic Year in a given course.
  4. Full-time*: refers to a student who is enrolled for 75% or more of an Equivalent Full-Time Student Load (i.e. 90 CP or more for an academic year).
  5. Part-time*: refers to a student who is enrolled for less than 75% of an Equivalent Full-Time Student Load (i.e. less than 90 CP for an academic year).
  6. Non-award program: a course that is not recognised for a qualification under the Australian Qualifications Framework.
*NOTE: These are University definitions and may not necessarily coincide with definitions applied by external agencies - such as those that are responsible for administering government benefits.